Go to WDVA Home Page

Professional/Occupational Licensure Renewal
(for Active Duty Service Members and Spouses)

2011 Wisconsin Act 210 addresses professional or occupational licensure renewals for Wisconsin service members and their spouses, that enter active duty.

Act 210 provides that:

Any license that a service member holds (expiring after September 11, 2001), except a license to practice law, does not expire on the expiration date of the license if, on the expiration date, the service member is on active duty.

and,

Any license that the spouse of a service member holds (expiring after September 11, 2001), except a license to practice law, does not expire on the expiration date of the license if the service member is on active duty on the expiration date of the spouse's license and the spouse does not practice under the license while the service member is on active duty because the service member is on active duty.

Under this law, a licensing agency or credentialing board shall extend or renew a license extended under this act until the next date that the license expires or for the period that such license is normally issued, at no cost to the service member or the spouse, if all of the following conditions are met:

    • The service member or spouse, as appropriate, requests an extension or renewal of the license within 180 days after the service member is discharged from active duty.
    • The service member or spouse, as appropriate, provides the licensing agency or supreme court with a copy of a federal (DD214) or state document (NGB53) that specifies when the service member was called into active duty and when the service member was discharged from active duty.
    • If a service member's license or the license of a service member's spouse is renewed or extended no more than 180 days before the next date that the license would normally expire, the licensing agency, or supreme court if it agrees, shall allow the service member or spouse, as appropriate, to renew or extend the license without complying with any continuing education or training requirements if complying with such requirement in the period before the license expires would cause the service member or spouse, as appropriate, undue hardship.
    • If a service member's license or the license of a service member's spouse is renewed or extended, the licensing agency or supreme court may require the service member or spouse, as appropriate, to comply with any continuing education or training requirements within a reasonable time after receipt of the license.

The licensing agency or credentialing board shall assist any service member or spouse of a service member who needs assistance to renew or extend a license.

Frequently Asked Questions

Q: Define "service member."
A: "Service member" means a member of the U.S. armed forces, a member of a reserve unit of the U.S. armed forces, a member of the state defense force, or a member of a national guard unit of any state who is a resident of Wisconsin.

Q: Is Wisconsin residency required?
A: Yes.

Q: How do I receive an extension of my license expiration date if I am on or will be on active duty at the time of expiration?
A: The service member or the spouse must request the 180 day extension from the licensing agency or credentialing board prior to the expiration date of the license. If orders showing active duty status are received by the licensing agency or credentialing board in a reasonable time prior to expiration date, they shall grant the 180 day extension of the license from the day of discharge from active duty, not the date of the expiration of the license.

Q: May an additional extension beyond the 180 days from date of active duty discharge be granted?
A: After the 180 day period from date of discharge from active duty has passed, the agency shall extend the expiration of the license for the service member or spouse to the next renewal period date, at no cost to the service member or spouse IF:

    1. The service member and/or spouse makes the request at a reasonable time prior to the 180 period from date of active duty discharge and:
    2. The service member and/or spouse complete any forms required by the licensing agency or credentialing board and provide the licensing agency or credentialing board with a copy of their DD214 or NGB53, or other official document showing entry and discharge dates from active duty.

Q: Can the spouse live outside of Wisconsin while the service member is on active duty?
A: Yes, as long as the spouse and service member retain Wisconsin residency and the spouse does not practice under the license while the service member is on active duty because the service member is on active duty.

Q: Are any fees waived when requesting renewal extension?
A: Yes, if you meet all the requirements of this act.

Q: Does this apply to a mortgage loan originator license? — Section 321.60(4), Stats., provides relief for service members or their spouses, in certain circumstances, from complying with continuing education requirements for the renewal of a license. 
Will a service member or spouse of a service member be able to renew a mortgage loan originator license without completing the 8 hours of annual continuing education requirements under Section 224.755(2), Stats.?
A: No, this does not apply to the mortgage loan originator license. — In 2008, the Federal government passed the Secure and Fair Enforcement for Mortgage Licensing Act (SAFE Act) that mandated that states begin licensing mortgage loan originators. The SAFE Act set the minimum licensing requirements that states must comply with in their licensing operations. Section 1506 of Title V of the SAFE Act establishes the minimum standards for the license renewal for state-licensed mortgage loans originators, including that the licensee shall complete at least 8 hours of continuing education.

Q: Who do I contact if I have questions?
A: Contact WDVA's Veterans Benefits Resource Center by email, phone 1-800-WIS-VETS (947-8387), or via our live web chat.