## MINUTES CULTIVATING CULTURES COMMITTEE (EQUITY AND INCLUSION ADVISORY COMMITTEE) Meeting of October 11, 2022 TEAMS Meeting

#### **Members**

Stephanie Banner - Human Resources - ABSENT April Blathers - Veterans Benefits/Claims - ABSENT Leslie Busby-Amegashie - Veterans Benefits/Grants - Present Kevin Hampton - Veterans Museum - Present Russ Horton - Veterans Museum - ABSENT Jeff Hughes - Veterans Benefits/Cemeteries - Present Patrick Meyer - Veterans Homes - Present Shannon Miller - Public Affairs - Present Matt Niehaus - Enterprise Services – Present Kristy Hartke - Veterans Benefits/Cemeteries - ABSENT Victoria Simonson - Human Resources – ABSENT Angela Zilliox - Human Resources – Non-Voting - Present

#### **Others Present (not all inclusive)**

No public participants

Total Voting Membership present: 6 Total Attendees: 7 Total Voting Membership: 11 Necessary for Quorum: 4

## 1. <u>Call to order, roll call</u>

The meeting of the Cultivating Cultures Committee – Equity and Inclusion Advisory Committee was called to order Shannon Miller at 1:00 PM. Roll was called and a quorum was present.

#### 2. Certification of notice of meeting

The meeting was notified as being properly noticed through the Wisconsin State Journal city desk submission, Wisconsin's Public Meetings Notice website, and WDVA's website.

3. <u>New Business:</u>

Voting on Amendments regarding recruitment and appointment

Matthew Niehaus, seconded by Kevin Hampton, called to consider the amendments from the previous meeting regarding the By-Laws Amendment to Article 2: Membership, Section 2: Number of Members.

"At least one and not more than three voting members will be nominated to the Committee by Division Administrator. The committee will consist of no more than twenty (20) members."

Will be changed to:

"At least one voting member from each WDVA Division shall be nominated by the corresponding Division Administrator. The nomination of voting members from each Bureau is encouraged. The committee shall consist of no more than twenty (20) voting members."

Patrick Meyer, seconded by Leslie Busby-Amegashie, moved to approve the amendment from the previous meeting regarding the By-Laws Amendment to Article 2: Membership, Section 2: Number of Members. Amendment passed unanimously.

Jeff Hughes, seconded by Patrick Meyer, called to consider the amendment from the previous meeting regarding the By-Laws Amendment to Article 2: Membership, Section 3: Terms of Appointment.

"Committee members will be appointed to three-year terms. New voting members will be appointed to a three-year term by the appointing authority in May of each year, or as needed to replace a vacancy."

Will be changed to:

"Committee members shall be appointed to two-year terms. New voting members shall be appointed to a two-year term by the appointing authority in May of each year, or as needed to replace a vacancy."

Patrick Meyer, seconded by Leslie Busby-Amegashie, moved to approve the amendment from the previous meeting regarding the By-Laws Amendment to Article 2: Membership, Section 3: Terms of Appointment. Amendment passed unanimously.

## 4. Public Input:

None

# 5. Future Agenda items:

None

## 6. Adjournment

Shannon Miller thanked everyone for meeting.

Kevin Hampton, seconded by Matthew Niehaus, moved to adjourn the meeting at 1:05 PM. Motion carried on a unanimous vote.

Russell Horton, Chair